top of page
  • Writer's pictureTayler Fettig

My Modeling Story





“It all started with a simple test shoot and from there it became something I could have never imagined."






Welcome To The Modeling World

 

I never really thought of being a model. It never crossed my mind that, Tayler, one day you will be a model and you will be seen in many well known stores and websites nationwide.


I was right out of high school, the summer of my senior year when Scott Manthey, a local professional photographer took these very pictures you see. These pictures, this simple test shoot is what started my career. He had a connection to my current agency Sports and Lifestyle Unlimited. I submitted my pictures to their online application and no more than a month later I signed my contract with them. That was in 2012.


I went off to college at Central Washington University and participated in both basketball and track and field. Back then it was against the NCAA rules to participate in sports in college and pursue a fitness modeling career due to conflicts of promoting multiple brands.


Through my five years at Central I wasn't able to do any work for the agency even though I had multiple requests. Which, if I may say, is frustrating that the NCAA kept young men and women to have access to an income just because they didn't want athletes representing multiple brands. The brand we represented on the court and on the track was Nike. You are telling me I can't model for this company? Why? The NCAA kept me from booking multiple clients and kept me from earning the money that I deserved when trying to make my way through college on less than 1/4 scholarship and student loans. That is a whole other story that I may decide to get into later.


Right when I graduated in 2016 I went full force into the modeling industry, I mean full force!! I turned down a full time teaching opportunity and decided to pursue modeling full time. I paid for multiple test shoots, I got footage of all of the sports I could perform to add to my portfolio, I started booking my first clients and made connections through each job to secure my spot in continuous bookings.


My first year was more than a thrill and I am still going five years later. Learning and growing each step of the way. All you have to do is simply put yourself out there, be confident in who you are and finally book that test shoot you have been thinking of.



xx Tayler Fettig

 

169 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page