top of page
  • Writer's pictureTayler Fettig

One Shoe Fits All

Through this reading I want to be able to allow you to experience a little bit of tight feet that we as models endure almost every time we work. The infamous sample size given to the client.

These shoes you see here in the photo are size 7 women. Just for reference I am a size 9.5-10 in women's.

“Don't get me wrong, I did sign up for this...”

Some clients are not able to get you your actual shoe size. Over 80% of the clients you have, this will be the case. Sample size for women for the clientele that I have worked with is for some reason a size 7 in women's. Which, if you take time to think about it... models are expected to be tall. Am I right? The stereotypical model size that is seen through the magazines and tv. So tall models, above 5'10'' have small feet? What a concept. Just wanted to throw that out there.


Anyways, I have gotten used to answering the question, “what size shoe are you?” with “whatever size shoe that is, that is my size…” There are a lot of models that aren’t as simplistic as I am and will not be for squishing their feet. They are a lot more vocal than I am. Totally understandable, it is painful and not comfortable at all and I have lost toenails because of it and have had plenty of blisters. I mean you are running in these things for hours on shoot days or doing HIIT workouts with shoes 2-3 sizes too small for you.


For the record the sample size is usually given in the casting call and even noted to the agency so that you are not blind sided by it. So you generally sign up for the pain and squish of the foot. But when you are blind sided with the glorious size 7 shoe it is always a deep sigh and a prayer that you won’t be doing too much activity throughout the day.


Hoka warned us beforehand that the sample size was 7 in women's. They wanted to ensure that we would feel comfortable enough to run in these shoes for miles day in and day out. I went for it and I am so glad I did. I loved every second. I squished my foot in there and with the sole out I got it to a size 8. Hoka is an amazing client and they always checked in on my feet and always had sandals on the ready for when I needed a break if I did.


Sadly not all clients are as compassionate as Hoka and will not warn you or your agent about the sample size. You as a model are still expected to perform at your best for hours in shoes that are literally squishing your feet. For me it is always hard to speak up when it comes to this. I never try to complain, and if I do it is because I literally have blisters. I do my best to suck it up for the client because I want to remain in good standing. But honestly, the client can usually tell before I am able to say anything because of the small imperfections in my movement that start to sneak in. So my advice, speak up in the first place if you need a break and isn't offered. You can get right back at it of course, but breaks are a thing and are okay to ask for when needed.


So to top this all off just a little gracious suggestion to the companies themselves... us models tend to run in the taller range and these itty bitty shoes are for those a lot shorter than us. I mean even a size 8 with the sole out would feel a whole lot better in the long run for my regular shoe size.


xx Tayler Fettig


6 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page