top of page
  • Writer's pictureTayler Fettig

Set Anxiety: 3 Ways I Cope With It

Through this reading I want to be able to be real with you, to get vulnerable and allow you to see the reality that many models face while being on set and three ways you can cope with it.



“Anxiety doesn't show weakness it simply shows that you are indeed human. It is okay to speak up about it."

Models don’t usually talk about this because they feel as if it will show a point of weakness and the client might not want to take them back because of it. In their mind it causes too much tension and an awkward connection between the client. But, anxiety is a real thing and it can easily hit you when you are on set.


No matter how the anxiety was stemmed, know that it is okay, and it happens. If it was someone's comment that triggered it, how uncomfortable you feel in the product, the way the stylist is touching you, or the way the photographer is directing you, it can happen. The client doesn’t know you for you. They just know you from pictures and a possible casting video. They won’t be able to tell what triggers you or how you are currently feeling unless you are open with them. Not only are you there for the client but in my eyes the client should be there for you as well. It is a two way street and if you aren’t comfortable then how are they going to get the result they want for the day?


The Three Things I Do:


1. Deep breathing


This is so important. Breathing will slow your heart rate down within seconds. Close your eyes. Picture a scenery that brings a sense of calmness to you. Inhale for two, hold for one and exhale for two. It will circulate your blood and allow your heart to slow to a resting rate. It will get your mind off whatever it is that is triggering your anxiety and allow for balance within.


2. Slow music


For me slow music, sometimes even without lyrics, helps me calm down. Sometimes people on set love to chit chat. About anything and everything and it becomes too much, at least for me. I realize this when I start to sing to myself to drown out the noise… so when this happens and I have a break, I put in my headphones. I listen to the rhythm of the song in my dressing room and continue taking deep breaths. You can listen to whatever music brings you peace and fills you with that sense of calmness. Of course if you need extra time allow the stylist to know so that they are aware and you are not holding up the set without notice.


3. Talk to who you most feel comfortable with for support


If I know someone on set I usually allow that person to know how I am feeling. Like I stated, they don’t know you know you for you so you have to allow yourself to open up and not fear what they may think. You too are a human being and they should respect the fact that you are experiencing anxiety and need a breather, a break.


These are the three main things that I try to do. I say try because I personally am still working on speaking up when I feel this way. It is hard. It is a vulnerable position to be in. Also, remember that these steps may not work right away for you. So, do what you have to do to feel yourself. You are the talent. You are supposed to be the top priority and taken care of at all times. Ask for space or time if needed. They should be understanding about this and if they aren't, call your agent and explain the issue. It is not you being extra, it is not you being uncooperative, it is you taking care of you and your mental health which is way more important than any end result. If the client thinks otherwise that is their loss and not yours. Your mental health means more. Point blank period.


xx Tayler Fettig


29 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page