top of page
  • Writer's pictureTayler Fettig

Tips For Staying Fit For You

Through this reading I want to bring light to the topic of making sure that as a model we keep our physique but also remember that it isn’t for anyone else but you.


“Workout for you and you alone.”

I know when I hear the words, “have you gained inches?” or “you look healthy” it is more than hard to receive. It seems as if every day I am personally judged by the stupid long pink tape measure that dictates whether or not I am going to be hired or considered. It is a touchy subject for a lot and a subject that I want to try and bring light to.


The fitness modeling world is a lot different from fashion. I can only imagine the requirements that they have because I only have been rejected by the fashion industry. Mind you my measurements are, 5 '10'’, 34 bust, 26 waist, 37 hips. Modeling is slowly but surely becoming more inclusive allowing all body types and ethnicities to take part. It is refreshing to see but let’s be real the industry still has a long way to go.


Finding Your Zone


Even though we hate to hear it from our agents or our clients, part of our job is to ensure that we remain at our size so that we are consistent for our clients. I personally enjoy working out. It allows me to release stress, set and achieve goals for myself and provide a safe place for when I feel so disconnected and out of tune from my body. You don’t have to excessively work out, by no means am I promoting that. But find out what works for you, mix it up, and do something that brings peace to your mental health. Some things I do to stay physically fit are the following:


  • HIIT / EMOM / AMRAP

  • Outdoor Walks / Runs

  • Hiking / Trail Running

  • Yoga / Stretching

  • Basketball


I also like to mix it up depending on the season. In the summer I take up water sports such as wake boarding and wake surfing. In the winter I love to get on the mountains and snowboard. There are so many different ways to be active and it honestly is such a freeing and empowering thing to do. If you find it hard to find something that fills you up I encourage you to find someone to hold you accountable, to encourage you and uplift you when you have no motivation.


Real Talk


Let's get real. There are days where I don’t feel like working out. I feel drained and exhausted from trying to keep up with what the industry expects from me. I think to myself why do I have to change my body for someone that doesn’t see me for who I am? It gets to the point where you are frustrated by the comments such as; “your body is not fit enough for a certain brand or agency,” or “you have to lose inches in order to be considered.” It is frustrating to hear that apparently having hips and strong thighs isn’t a fashion model size or a sample size for a lot of clients.


Instead of taking it personally I have learned over the years to workout for me. Not the client. Not the agency. Not anyone else that may be involved in the process of me getting hired. I workout for my mental health, for my own healthy lifestyle, and to help me to continue to exceed the goals I have set out for myself. Once I found that, I was able to brush off the comments, take them in of course, but not be identified by them. I am beautiful, I am strong and I have some extra inches in my hips and thighs. And that's okay. If clients or agencies don’t like the way I am built, that is their loss, not mine. I refuse to conform to what the industry's ideal look is because then in the long run the promotion of only one particular body type will flourish within the industry. Which will make advocating for inclusivity and acceptance of all body types less appealing.


So my friends, over time you will find your confidence as I did. You will be able to workout for you and stay physically fit for the one and only reason that you chose to. Just remember you are in this very moment, loved, accepted and beautiful. Don’t allow yourself to be identified by the words thrown at you by people, agencies, or clients. You define who you are. Live out who you are in confidence and watch your career flourish. I believe in you. You got this.


xx Tayler Fettig


31 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page