top of page
  • Writer's pictureTayler Fettig

What A Life


Today as I sat on set one of the models in the makeup chair said with a deep sigh of relief, “what a life.” It made me start thinking… This life is sincerely out of this world. The things as a model that we get to experience, the people we meet, the places we travel, it’s all insane. I don’t think I will ever be able to wrap my whole head around it. It truly is a blessing to do what I do. I mean I love it and each and every day is a new adventure.


I think my favorite part of this industry is meeting all of the talented, inspiring and dedicated people. I have always been a people person. Encouraging, uplifting and empowering people to be their best self. Allowing everyone that I encounter to see how valuable they truly are. Through modeling I use my platform to be that light as much as I can. I get to be my spunky, awkward, goofy self. I try to bring that freedom to set. Something that I feel a lot of people feel as if they have to hide. I am who I am. And the people that truly know me know that, me asking the PA team if they need help isn’t me trying to suck, or me taking criticism with a smile isn’t trying to get on the good side of production. I am a genuine real person that is comfortable being my authentic self even if others may see my personality in a different light.


Don’t get me wrong, modeling isn’t all sunshines and daisies. It is hard work and takes a lot of dedication to improve your physical and mental health daily. You are in a world where comparison is your biggest enemy, where the tape measure can help you or make you feel as if you are not good enough. It is a world of rejection, high anxiety, power trips and a test of character. You have long rigorous hours, up in the air schedules, and payment periods up to 90 days for some clients. You are hard on yourself, on your body, and you do your best to do all of this with a smile on your face even though you may be going through something. Yet, we live off of the hype, the art, the creativity. We as artists live for every moment knowing that what we are waiting for is the end result.


Then again, if you stay clear of the comparison game, don’t allow the tape measure to define you and realize that the rejection from a client is only helping you free up time for a better one, you will excel. You will be able to find peace in the industry. I haven’t gotten it all figured out yet by any means. But all I know is that no matter what, I am going to be me. I have told myself I will never compromise who I am to please an agency or any client. So simply, stay true to who you are my friend and soon you will be sitting in that makeup chair saying with a deep sigh of relief “what a life.”


xx Tayler Fettig

12 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page