top of page
  • Writer's pictureTayler Fettig

5 Tips For Travel Days


Through this reading I want to dive into the travel days that we experience as a model.



Most clients don’t comp for travel days. What I mean by this is you are taking a day out of your schedule to travel for this client but they are not paying you for this day. It seems silly but those things can and will add up.


Travel days are long, especially when you are going to the opposite side of the US. You have to calculate the time it takes to get to the airport, wait in the airport, the flight and travel to your hotel. Sometimes you may have to take a red eye and sometimes you have to be up at 4 A.M. to make your 6 A.M. flight. Traveling can be exhausting so hopefully these 5 tips I have will help make travel at least a little more bearable for you.


1. Be Comfy


I mean, yes you are a model, but it is okay to wear sweatpants and a sweatshirt. It is okay to dress comfy but still be “fashionable.” If you are that person that wears jeans and high heels on the plane… props to you but I could never. I would rather be in street wear that I know I can sit back and relax in without feeling trapped inside a pair of tight jeans. Comfy looks different to everyone so choose your comfy and run with it.


2. Hydrate Yourself


On flights you get so dehydrated. It is inevitable. I always try to drink 40oz before I go on the plane and fill up my water bottle after security so I can get another 40oz. My favorite trick I have is I bring my Liquid I.V. pack and have one right when I get to the hotel. Hydration is key not only for your body to function properly but to keep your skin clear and bloating down.


3. Find Somewhere To Get Food By Your Hotel Before Your Flight


I mean the first thing I want when I land is something to eat. Maybe that is just me considering I am a foodie. It is nice to have something in mind before getting to your destination because then you don’t have to stress out about finding one once you land. That’s when you become indecisive and don’t know where to go eat or if you fly in later a lot of places may be closed. What I like to do is look around the hotel I am staying at and try to find something within walking distance so I can also get moving. If not.. DoorDash or UberEats is always the move.


4. Try Not To Overpack


This is nearly impossible for me. If you have tips for not over packing please let me know. I do my best to stick with my travel backpack when it is just a day trip. When I know I am there for more than a day I pack my carry on. I try to keep it to the essentials but sometimes clients ask to bring extra clothing items or shoes. I also, always bring my own hair and makeup essentials because a lot of clients have taken that aspect away from their ecomm. Which makes you in charge of ensuring that you look good on camera. Why I say not to overpack is because it is easier to get around and you don’t have to worry about your luggage walking around a new city. And you also, don’t have to wait for your checked bag after a long flight. It is just always nice, in my honest opinion.


5. Get A Small Workout In To Get Moving


After a long flight I always feel so stiff and well for lack of better terms, "bleh." All I want to do is lay down and go to sleep but I know if I do that I won’t be able to sleep the night of. So what do I do? I get up and walk around and explore the new city I am in or I go down to the hotel gym and do a short HIIT workout to get the blood flowing. It doesn’t have to be anything too vigorous. Just a small controlled workout that allows you to feel refreshed.


I know these tips may seem so very simple but they do help me have an easy and refreshing travel day. It ensures that I won’t be jet lagged and I am able to perform at my prime ability for the shoot the next day!


So hopefully these help and your next travel day won't have you exhausted.


xx Tayler Fettig


10 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page